Quick answer
- Best documented encryption and staff limits: Kindroid, the only app here whose policy states encryption at rest, with support staff barred from browsing chats.
- Best for no ad tracking: Nomi, whose App Store label lists no tracking and whose policy deletes your data about 28 days after account deletion.
- Clearest deletion on an adult platform: Nastia AI deletes immediately and lists every exception.
- Only documented training opt-out: Character.AI, with a big caveat: the company is being sold in Chapter 11.
- Truly private chats need a model on your own computer; see the local options at the end.
Every app in this list stores your chats on its servers, and none claims end-to-end encryption. "Private" here means the company tells you, in writing, what it keeps, for how long, who can read it and what it trains on, and gives you a way out. We ranked the apps on those documents alone. We did not create accounts or test anything; this is part of our AI companion privacy section, where a table compares all 19 apps.
How We Picked the Most Private AI Chat Apps
Six criteria, each checked against the app's privacy policy, terms, help center and store privacy label on October 20, 2026:
- Deletion: a self-serve way to delete your account and chats, with a stated scope or timeline.
- Training use: does the policy say whether chats train AI models, and is there an opt-out or a clear limit?
- Retention: a fixed period, or a clear rule, for how long chats are kept and what survives deletion.
- Encryption and staff access: specific statements, not "advanced encryption" slogans.
- Tracking and selling: the App Store "Data Used to Track You" section and the policy's wording on selling or sharing data.
- Track record: breaches, regulator actions and company stability count against an app.
No app scores well on all six. Each pick below says what is documented, what is missing, and who should skip it. We publish no scores; the order reflects how much each app's documents protect and inform you.
Privacy Terms at a Glance
| App | Data deletion | Chat export |
|---|---|---|
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Not confirmed | |
| Yes | Not confirmed | |
| Yes | Not confirmed | |
| Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Not confirmed | |
| Yes | Not confirmed |
Yes No Not confirmed by an official sourceChecked October 20, 2026.
| App | Training | Encryption stated | Kept after deletion | App Store "Data Used to Track You" |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindroid | Not stated | At rest and in transit | Legal or anonymised data only | User ID, product interaction |
| Nomi | Aggregated, anonymised; no opt-out | Not end-to-end; nothing else stated | About 28 days; unattributable training archives | None listed |
| Nastia AI | Not explicit | In transit | Immediate; payment and violation records, backups cycle out | No store app |
| Replika | Own safety algorithms and chatbot only | In transit | Up to 60 days; account and financial records 10 years | Identifiers, product interaction, advertising data |
| Character.AI | Yes, with opt-out | In transit (Play label) | No fixed period; public Characters may stay | Location, contact info, identifiers, usage data |
| Janitor AI | Not stated | HTTPS in transit | Grace period; email and sign-in metadata may stay | None listed |
| Romantic AI | Anonymised data; no opt-out | In transit | "Without undue delay"; accounting records | Contact info |
The Most Private AI Chat Apps, Ranked


1. Kindroid
Companion app by Beautifully Incorporated
Best documented encryption and staff limits
- Price
- from $15.99/mo
- Free plan
- No (one-time preview; trial needs a card)
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Kindroid's legal page (effective October 6, 2026) is the most specific in this group. It says chats and other sensitive data are encrypted at rest and in transit, and states plainly that "Kindroid is not end-to-end encrypted". Support staff "cannot browse your chats"; authorized staff may see only excerpts flagged by automated safety systems, and Trust and Safety opens flagged context only when you appeal a lock and consent. Production access is limited to a small group of engineers.
Chats stay until you delete a Kindroid or your account, and a self-serve export runs every 30 days from Profile, Preferences, Account privacy. The policy says "We will not sell or share your Personal Data", and its Yoti age check passes back only a pass or fail. Gaps: the policy does not say whether chats train its models, and the App Store label lists a user ID and product interaction as used to track you. More in our Kindroid review.
Skip it if you want a free plan (none since October 1, 2026) or a written answer on training.


2. Nomi
Companion app by Glimpse.ai, Inc
Best for no ad tracking
- Price
- from $15.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Nomi's US App Store label has no "Data Used to Track You" section at all, which Surfshark's 2025 and 2026 studies also singled out. Its policy says it uses session cookies only, does not currently use advertising networks, and "We do not and will not sell or rent to any third party any of your personal information". Sign-in is Google or Apple only, and Apple's Hide My Email relay works.
Deletion is clear: Profile, Account Settings, Delete account, then type DELETE. Personal information is removed "within 28 or so days", with only unattributable training archives, support emails and legal records kept. The gaps are training (aggregated, anonymised chat data improves the AI, with no opt-out), encryption (only "not end-to-end" is stated) and staff access (not addressed). See our Nomi review.
Skip it if you need a chat export or written limits on who can read your messages.


3. Nastia AI
NSFW AI girlfriend platform by Nastia Cybernetics
Clearest deletion on an adult platform
- Price
- Official prices conflict
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Not confirmed
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web
Nastia AI (Nastia Cybernetics, France) has the cleanest deletion rules among the adult platforms. Settings, Account, Danger zone deletes everything at once and immediately: companions, chats, images, videos, settings and remaining tokens. Single chats and media can be deleted any time. The policy then lists what survives and why: payment records for tax law, records of rule violations (up to 7 years), cancellation answers, and backups that are overwritten on a regular cycle.
Where the law requires age checks, an outside provider returns only a pass or fail, and Nastia does not receive your ID or face image. The policy says "we do not sell your personal information" and states encryption in transit. It is vaguer on training ("the quality of companion replies") and silent on staff reading ordinary chats, and services are hosted in the US. Our Nastia AI review covers the rest.
Skip it if you want a store app; and type nastia.ai yourself, because nastia.app redirects elsewhere.


4. Replika
Companion app by Luka, Inc
Most specific retention periods
- Price
- From $7.99/mo (App Store)
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Not confirmed
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Replika's May 2026 privacy policy gives real numbers: messages and content are kept up to 60 days after your contract ends, account and financial records at least 10 years, and anonymised analysis data is deleted within a year. Training is limited to its own safety algorithms and chatbot performance; outside language model providers are contractually barred from training on your data, and an erasure request reaches them too. The help center says no humans read your messages.
The downsides are real. Conversation data now goes to unnamed third-party AI providers, while the store listings still say conversations are "not shared with any third parties". Encryption is stated for transit only, the App Store label lists advertising data used to track you, you cannot delete chat history without deleting the account, and Italy fined its developer EUR 5 million in 2025. Read the Replika review.
Skip it if you object to outside AI companies processing your chats.


5. Character.AI
Character chat platform by Character Technologies, Inc
Only documented training opt-out
- Price
- from $4.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- No
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Character.AI is the only app here with a switch to stop your chats training its models: untick "Improve the Model for Everyone" in data settings. Its help article describes it for EEA and UK users and a July 2026 summary says users can opt out at any time; it does not cover search, recommendations or safety classifiers. It also offers a self-serve data export and account deletion, and its age-check partner Persona deletes biometric data and IDs within 7 days.
Everything else counts against it: moderators can review flagged content, the App Store label lists location, contact info, identifiers and usage data for tracking, and there is no fixed retention period. Above all, the company filed for Chapter 11 on October 12, 2026 to sell itself, and its policy allows data to pass to a buyer. Forty attorneys general have asked the court to let users delete data first. See our Chapter 11 explainer.
Skip it if you want adult content (not allowed) or certainty about who will hold your data next year.


6. Janitor AI
Roleplay platform by JanitorAI Inc
Lightest App Store privacy label
- Price
- from $12.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- No (planned)
- Images
- No (planned)
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Janitor AI's US App Store label lists every data type as "not linked to you" and nothing as used to track you, and its Google Play label says no data is shared with third parties. The Safety page adds: "We never sell your personal data or share private conversations with third parties for advertising or commercial purposes." Deletion sits under Settings, Security, Delete account (with an emailed code), and k-ID age checks return only a yes or no.
The policy leaves important gaps: whether chats train its own model, whether staff can open private chats, and how long data is kept. Deleted accounts may keep your email and sign-in metadata. And if you connect an outside model through an API proxy or the Router, your chats go to that provider under its own rules. Our Janitor AI review explains the model options.
Skip it if you plan to use an external model and want one privacy policy to cover everything.


7. Romantic AI
NSFW AI girlfriend platform by Just Web It Oy
Clearest rules on human review
- Price
- from $7.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Suggestive (explicit not stated)
- Voice calls
- Not confirmed
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Not confirmed
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Romantic AI's September 2026 Content Management Policy says "We do not continuously review all interactions in real time" and lists the only situations in which a moderator looks: a user report or removal request, an appeal, a notice from a rights holder, payment partner, regulator or police, or an ambiguous case. Deleting your account removes your data permanently, personal data is deleted "without undue delay", and the policy says "We do not sell personal data".
Against that: anonymised chat data is used to train its models with no opt-out, the App Store label lists contact info as used to track you, and its Google Play label says some data may be shared with third parties. Mozilla's 2024 review counted 24,354 trackers in one minute of its Android app, though that predates the current policy. More in the Romantic AI review.
Skip it if you want your chats kept out of training.
Apps That Missed the List, and Why
- Candy AI: the most detailed retention schedule of all (account data up to 3 years after last activity, debug logs 30 days), but chats train its models with human review of de-identified data, outside LLM providers may receive messages, and there is no opt-out.
- Talkie: deactivation erases conversations, but ad partners receive website data and the Terms admit users from age 14.
- Chai: keeps data up to 5 years after deletion and fine-tunes models on chats.
- GirlfriendGPT and Kupid AI: usually 6 years of retention after you leave; deletion by email request.
- CrushOn.AI: trains on chats, states no encryption, and its policy was last modified in March 2025.
- SpicyChat: its 2023 privacy policy does not mention chats, and its Terms include "selling" in the licence over chat content.
- Muah AI: a generic 2022 policy and a 2024 breach that linked prompts to 1.9 million email addresses.
- EVA AI, Anima, DreamGF and Paradot: training use without an opt-out, no retention periods, or store labels that contradict the policy.
How to Choose a Private AI Chat App
Decide what you are protecting against. If it is a leak tied to your identity, use a separate email and avoid apps with weak security statements. If it is training, Character.AI's opt-out or Replika's limits matter most. If it is staff reading, Kindroid's and Romantic AI's written limits are the strongest. Our guide to who can read your messages goes deeper, and how long apps keep your chats covers deletion.
Local Options: Private by Design
If you want chats no company can read, run the model yourself. These tools are not in our app rankings because they are software, not services, but they are the only route to chats that never leave your device:
- SillyTavern: a free, open-source chat interface built around character cards. It is only a front-end: chats stay local only if you connect it to a local backend rather than a cloud API.
- KoboldCpp: a single download that runs GGUF models on your own CPU or GPU, with a built-in chat UI that imports character cards.
- LM Studio: a desktop app whose docs say nothing you type "leaves your device" once a model is downloaded; the app itself is proprietary.
- Ollama and TextGen (formerly text-generation-webui): local model runners; TextGen describes itself as "100% offline and private".
The trade-offs are hardware, setup and fewer polished features such as voice calls. Our guide to local vs cloud AI companions compares them properly.
FAQ
What is the most private AI chat app?
Among cloud apps, Kindroid documents the most protection: encryption at rest and in transit, written limits on staff access and a self-serve export. Nomi is the pick if you mainly want no ad tracking. For chats that never leave your device, use a local model with a tool such as KoboldCpp or LM Studio.
Is there an AI girlfriend app that doesn't store chats?
No cloud app we checked works without storing chats; the companion needs your history to reply and remember you. Some delete quickly once you delete your account (Nastia AI immediately, Nomi within about 28 days). Only a locally run model avoids company storage entirely.
Which AI chat apps don't train on your data?
None of the major apps rules it out completely in its policy. Character.AI offers an opt-out switch, Replika limits training to its own safety algorithms and chatbot, and Kupid AI's FAQ says it does not train public models on your chats. Kindroid, Janitor AI and several others do not say either way.
Can I use an AI companion anonymously?
Not fully, but you can limit what links back to you. Use a separate email or Apple's Hide My Email (Nomi supports it), a nickname and no identifying details. GirlfriendGPT and Kupid AI allow a few messages before registration, and Muah AI has a no-login demo.
Are private AI chat apps free?
Several picks have free tiers: Nomi (50 messages a day), Janitor AI, Character.AI, Nastia AI and Replika's text chat. Kindroid has had no free plan since October 1, 2026. Local tools such as SillyTavern, KoboldCpp and Ollama are free, but you need capable hardware.
Sources
Official pages and store listings we read for this page (last check October 20, 2026).
- kindroid.ai: Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (effective Oct 6, 2026)
- kindroid.ai: Help center: age verification
- apps.apple.com: US App Store listing
- nomi.ai: Privacy policy effective April 27, 2026
- nomi.ai: Account deletion instructions
- apps.apple.com: US App Store listing (in-app purchases, age rating, seller, privacy label)
- nastia.ai: Privacy policy (updated Sep 16, 2026)
- nastia.ai: Help: account deletion
- replika.com: Privacy policy, last updated May 27, 2026
- help.replika.com
- apps.apple.com: US App Store listing (IAP prices, age rating, seller, privacy label)
- character.ai: Privacy policy (2026-07-01)
- support.character.ai: Training opt-out
- support.character.ai: Data export
- blog.character.ai: Chapter 11 notice 2026-10-12
- janitorai.com: Privacy Policy (2026-09-17)
- janitorai.com: Safety page
- apps.apple.com: App Store US listing: IAP, age rating, privacy label
- chat.romanticai.com: Content Management Policy (updated Sep 16, 2026)
- chat.romanticai.com: Privacy Policy (updated Sep 16, 2026)
- apps.apple.com: Apple App Store US: seller, age rating, IAP list, privacy label, reviews
- docs.sillytavern.app: SillyTavern documentation: what it is, hardware, character cards
- raw.githubusercontent.com: KoboldCpp README
- lmstudio.ai: LM Studio offline operation documentation
- docs.ollama.com: Ollama FAQ: local privacy statement, cloud opt-out, default 4096 context
- raw.githubusercontent.com: TextGen README