Quick answer
- Free images are documented for four apps: Nomi (a daily selfie and art allowance, size unpublished), Character.AI (image features marked "Limited" on the free plan), Candy AI (one image in total) and Kindroid (five selfies in a one-time preview).
- Nothing documents free explicit images. Candy AI lists 18+ images as a Premium benefit, SpicyChat's in-chat images start at $19.95 a month, and Nomi and Character.AI do not allow nude images at all.
- Paid only: SpicyChat, Replika, Kupid AI and Nastia AI keep image generation behind a subscription.
- Unclear: DreamGF, GirlfriendGPT, Muah AI, Romantic AI, Talkie and Paradot have image tools but publish no free allowance.
"Free" can mean a standing daily allowance, a one-off sample, or a free generator next to a paid chat. Only the first is something you can keep using. This page, part of our free AI companion apps section, sorts apps by what their own help centers, plan pages and terms say, and states when a number is not published. For the all-apps view, see AI girlfriend apps with image generation.
How We Picked Free AI Girlfriend Apps With Images
We did not create accounts or request pictures, and we publish no scores. An app is ranked only if an official page says free accounts can generate images. Ranking then follows these criteria:
- Ongoing or one-time: a daily allowance beats a sample.
- Published size: a stated number beats "limited".
- Image rules: what the app allows, nudity included, and how rules differ by platform.
- Stability: open caveats such as a pending company sale or a recent change to the free plan.
The Free AI Girlfriend Apps With Images, Ranked


1. Nomi
Companion app by Glimpse.ai, Inc
Best ongoing free selfie allowance (size unpublished)
- Price
- from $15.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Nomi's wiki says subscribers get more daily selfie and art requests than free users, which means free accounts have a daily allowance of their own. The number is not published on any page we found. The free plan has no end date: Nomipedia describes 50 messages a day, up to 400 characters each.
Nomi's credits (one per selfie, art or edit request once the daily allowance is spent) are sold only to subscribers, so a free account has the allowance and nothing on top. Images use the V5 system from April 2026, in photo-realistic or anime looks. Selfies pass a nudity filter and Nomis "are not permitted to take nude photos". In 2026 Q&A streams the company said image rules differ by platform: the mobile app is the most restricted, free web comes next and paid or age-verified web is the least restricted. Video, voice and group chats are paid. Our Nomi review and Nomi pricing page cover the rest.
Best for
Anyone who wants a recurring, non-explicit selfie from one companion and can live without knowing the exact quota.


2. Character.AI
Character chat platform by Character Technologies, Inc
Free image allowance on a character platform, sale pending
- Price
- from $4.99/mo
- Free plan
- Yes
- NSFW
- No
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Character.AI's plan comparison marks image features as "Limited" on the free and (c.ai) lite plans and "Unlimited" on c.ai+. No daily number is published. Imagine Chat and Imagine Message create pictures from a chat moment and collect them in the Imagine Gallery. Charms, the in-app currency, can be earned free through quests such as the daily log-in and spent on extra Imagine generations; some Charm features are limited during the beta.
Sexual or nude images are prohibited for every user. This is a character platform rather than a girlfriend app, and free messaging carries ads. The company filed for Chapter 11 on October 12, 2026; the platform stays online for now but will be wound down if no buyer keeps it running (see our news page). More in the Character.AI review.
Best for
Casual, safe-for-work pictures of a character you already chat with, if you accept the sale risk.


3. Candy AI
NSFW AI girlfriend platform by EverAI Limited
Best documented single free image
- Price
- €13.99/mo (EU price)
- Free plan
- Preview (5 messages in total)
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web
Candy AI's help center says a free user can send up to 5 messages in total across all characters, create one custom character and generate one image. The Terms repeat the 5-message cap: "Further use requires a subscription." That is a sample, not a free tier. It is also the only exact free image count we found on an adult-focused platform.
The plan page lists "Generate 18+ Images" as a Premium benefit, and it does not say whether the one free image can be explicit. Premium was €9.99 for the first month and €13.99 after that when we looked from an EU IP. On Premium, images cost tokens from a 100-token monthly allowance, and the per-image token price is not published. Candy AI is web-only. See our Candy AI review and Candy AI pricing breakdown.


4. Kindroid
Companion app by Beautifully Incorporated
Most selfies in a one-time preview
- Price
- from $15.99/mo
- Free plan
- No (one-time preview; trial needs a card)
- NSFW
- Yes
- Voice calls
- Yes
- Images
- Yes
- Memory
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web · iOS · Android
Kindroid ended its free plan on October 1, 2026. New accounts now get a one-time preview on the flagship model: 50 messages (15 in some regions), 5 selfies in total (one at signup, then one every 2 hours) and up to 2 Kindroids. After that the account is read-only: you can view and export everything, but you cannot send messages. Our page on Kindroid ending its free plan has the details.
The docs add that avatar generation costs no credits and is limited to 2 per 20 minutes (5 for subscribers); whether it still works on a read-only account is not stated. Selfie credits are sold in packs of 50 ($6.99) and 100 ($11.49) on the US App Store. The iOS and Android apps apply stricter image rules than the web. See the Kindroid review.
Free Image Access Compared
| App | Free image access | Size published? | Nude images |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nomi | Daily selfie and art requests, fewer than paid | No | Not permitted |
| Character.AI | Imagine images, "Limited"; Charms from quests | No | Prohibited |
| Candy AI | 1 image in total, one time | Yes (1) | 18+ images are Premium; free image rules not stated |
| Kindroid | 5 selfies in a one-time preview | Yes (5) | Stricter image rules in the iOS and Android apps |
The matrix below shows whether an app has image generation at all, which is not the same as having it for free. Read it with the table above.
| App | Free plan | Images | Video | NSFW | Web | iOS | Android |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (per Nomi's wiki) | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Preview (5 messages in total) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | |
| No (one-time preview; trial needs a card) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | No | APK from the official site | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | |
| Trial (limits not published) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No (not in the US App Store) | No (no official app found) | |
| GirlfriendGPT | Preview (10 to 20 messages in total) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No (installable web app) |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | APK from the official site |
Yes No Not confirmed by an official sourceChecked October 20, 2026.
Where Images Are Paid Only
- SpicyChat: Conversation Images are not included in the Free or Get A Taste plans. True Supporter ($19.95 a month) adds unlimited in-chat images for select characters, and I'm All In ($29.95) covers any character, including your own. An avatar generator is available on every tier. See the SpicyChat review.
- Replika: the Terms list "Replika selfies, image generation" among Pro features, and Platinum adds up to 10 realistic selfie videos. The help center says chatting is always free, but it does not list free images. See the Replika review.
- Kupid AI: the Free column of the pricing table shows no photos or videos. Pro ($12.99 a week) lists 25 photos a week and Ultra ($24.99 a week) 75. See the Kupid AI review.
- Nastia AI: the free tier is text chat with one companion under a daily token allowance; the paid plan lists unlimited AI selfies. Official pages disagree on the price, so check the checkout. More in the Nastia AI review.
- DreamGF: each image costs 10 tokens, and token packs are sold only to premium members. The free trial's limits are unpublished, and "remove blur" is a premium benefit, which suggests trial images are blurred (our inference; DreamGF does not say it). See the DreamGF review.
Image Tools With No Published Free Allowance
These apps have image features, but we found no official number for free users, so we do not rank them. GirlfriendGPT lets you look at its image generator without logging in, and free users can earn credits by completing tasks, but the free image allowance is not stated. Muah AI's guide says free chat "can have" photo-generation quotas and photo locks, without numbers. Romantic AI pays for photos with Hearts and publishes no free amount.
Talkie and Paradot advertise image creation with no limits stated for free users, and Chai, EVA AI and Anima do not document or confirm image generation. CrushOn.AI and Janitor AI have no on-demand image generator.
What About Explicit Images on a Free Plan?
No app in our research documents free explicit images. Adult-focused platforms put explicit pictures on paid tiers (Candy AI, SpicyChat, Kupid AI, Nastia AI), while Nomi and Character.AI do not allow nude images for anyone. Age checks and regional rules for adult content are covered in our guide to free NSFW AI chat and the NSFW AI girlfriend apps ranking.
Limitations of Free Image Allowances
- Unpublished numbers: Nomi and Character.AI do not say how many free images you get.
- Allowances change: Kindroid retired its free messaging on October 1, 2026, and Character.AI said in April 2026 that usage limits on some features and more ads for free users had landed close together.
- Platform differences: Nomi and Kindroid apply stricter image rules on iOS and Android than on the web. Apple's guidelines (updated October 16, 2026) and Google Play's generative AI expectations push in the same direction; see our news page on the store rule changes.
Tip
Before paying for images, look for the per-image price. Nomi's credits are published (1 per request), DreamGF publishes 10 tokens an image, and Candy AI does not publish its token cost. Our pricing overview and free vs paid comparison cover the full cost.
If images are secondary and you mainly want a free app that keeps chatting, start with our best free AI girlfriend apps; for talking instead, see free AI girlfriend with voice.
FAQ
Is there a free AI girlfriend that generates images?
Yes, in small amounts. Nomi gives free accounts a daily selfie and art allowance, Character.AI marks its image features "Limited" on the free plan, Candy AI gives one image, and Kindroid gives five selfies in a one-time preview. Only Candy AI and Kindroid publish a number.
Can I get free explicit images from an AI girlfriend?
No app we track documents it. Candy AI lists 18+ images as a Premium benefit, SpicyChat's NSFW image mode needs a paid tier, and Nomi and Character.AI do not allow nude images.
How many free images does Candy AI give?
One. The help center says free users can send up to 5 messages, create one custom character and generate one image. Further use requires a subscription.
Does Nomi give free selfies?
Its wiki says paid users get more daily selfie and art requests than free users, so free accounts have a smaller daily allowance. The count is not published, and credits for extra requests are sold only to subscribers.
Does Character.AI generate images for free?
Its plan comparison lists image features as "Limited" on the free plan, with no daily number. You can earn Charms through quests and spend them on extra generations. Nude or sexual images are prohibited.
Why did a free image feature disappear?
Free allowances are set by the company and can change without notice. Kindroid ended unlimited free messaging on October 1, 2026 and replaced it with a one-time preview. Check the date of any list, including ours.
Sources
Official pages and store listings we read for this page (last check October 20, 2026).
- everai.zendesk.com
- candy.ai: Terms of service (revised 2026-09-22): operator, free limits, payments, refunds,…
- wiki.nomi.ai
- wiki.nomi.ai
- wiki.nomi.ai
- support.character.ai: Lite pricing (USD) and plan comparison
- support.character.ai: Charms
- kindroid.ai: Help center: subscriptions, trial, preview, tiers
- kindroid.ai: Help center: in-app purchases
- docs.spicychat.ai: Image generation
- replika.com: Terms of service, last updated March 30, 2026
- kupid.ai: Pricing: Weekly, Yearly, Lifetime tabs clicked, Pro and Ultra cards selected
- nastia.ai: Landing page with Free vs Unlimited plan cards
- dreamgf.ai: Pricing Policy: token costs and package price range (conflicting plan figures)
- muah.ai: Official user guide, reviewed October 3, 2026
- developer.apple.com: Apple App Review Guidelines full text (Last Updated Oct 16, 2026)